Agoraphobia and the Holidays

via Daily Prompt: Anticipation

We all know it’s that time of year, time for lots of friends and family get togethers.  The parties, the gifts, and the food.  Seems like a lot in the span of one and half months.

The only problem with this is the anticipation can be so great that panic can set in.  At least it does for me.  I have Agoraphobia and the thought of doing these things terrify me. I can with the help of my medication but sometimes even that’s not enough to suppress that overwhelming feeling.  The worst part is knowing it’s coming, you sit and anticipate every hour, every minute, and every second until it’s time to go.  Unfortuneately by that time, I’m doomed.  I am much better at spur of the minute plans.  I simply don’t have time to think about them.

For those of you that don’t know what Agoraphobia is, it’s the fear of leaving your safe zone, the fear of going out.  So now you can understand my predicament. Maybe someday I will get back to normal, just not yet.  Mine was triggered after I had a hysterectomy.  I never had this before so I’m not sure what happened.

Anyways, I will sit back and continue to anticipate the coming up holidays and hopefully get through them one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

